About Us

Our Philosophy

HERE follows the Housing First Philosophy, the philosophy of housing the homeless as soon as housing is available, not after the participant has completed certain programming or “earned” the right to housing. Instead, safe, affordable housing is seen as a foundation required to work on other goals such as obtaining employment or reaching sobriety goals.

Our Board of Directors

A vital component in our goal of making sure that homelessness in Jackson County is rare, brief, and one time is our multidisciplinary Board of Directors. Our Board includes community members and agency representatives who are able to address homelessness through multiple lenses including lived experience.

Members of our Board include:

Marilyn Chamberlin – President
Western Carolina University – Retired

Monica Frizzell – Vice President
Vaya Health – Permanent Supportive Housing Specialist

Beth Bartlett – Treasurer
United Community Bank – Customer Service Representative

Jennifer Abshire
Jackson Department of Social Services – Director

Mary Kate Crisp
Down Home North Carolina – Syringe Exchange Coordinator

Patsy Davis
Mountain Projects – Director

Suzanne Saucier
Legal Aid of North Carolina – Attorney

Destri LegerEx Officio
HERE in Jackson County – Housing Case Manager

Program Director: Robert Cochran